North Dakota Board of Dental Examiners

Special Meeting | December 5, 2022 | 6:30 PM Meeting was held solely by virtual means with Zoom

1. Call to Order and roll call: Mr. Mehlhoff called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm CST.

Board Members and Administrative Staff Attendance

Tim Mehlhoff, CPA, PresidentAlison Fallgatter, DDSDr. Megan Olson, DDSOtto Dohm, DDS, MSJoel Kangas, DDSJennifer Sarsland, DDS

Andrea Carlson, RDA

Rita Sommers, RDH, MBA, Executive Director Jacinda Simmons, Board Administrator David Schaibley, Assistant Attorney General

Absent:

Bev Marsh, RDH, President-Elect Marcus Tanabe, DDS, OMFS, Secretary Treasurer

2. Minutes – November 18, 2022: Dr. Fallgatter moved to approve the minutes. Motion seconded by Dr. Olson. RCV: Mr. Mehlhoff, yes; Dr. Dohm, yes; Dr. Sarsland, yes; Dr. Kangas, yes; Dr. Fallgatter, yes; Ms. Carlson, yes; Dr. Olson, yes. Ms. Marsh and Dr. Tanabe absent. Motion 7-0-2.

3. Executive Director Position:

Executive Session: Mr. Mehlhoff moved to enter into Executive Session. Motion seconded by Dr. Fallgatter. The legal authority for closing this portion of the meeting is NDCC 44-04-19.1(9) and NDCC 44-04-19.2. The topic of this executive session is contract negotiations with candidates for the Executive Director position. RCV: Mr. Mehlhoff, yes; Dr. Dohm, yes; Dr. Sarsland, yes; Dr. Kangas, yes; Dr. Fallgatter, yes; Ms. Carlson, yes; Dr. Olson, yes. Ms. Marsh and Dr. Tanabe absent. Motion 7-0-2. Members of the public were placed into a breakout session of the Zoom meeting. The Executive Session began at 6:48 pm CST. Executive Session ended at 8:49 pm CST and the public was invited back.

Dr. Fallgatter moved to nominate Mr. Schaibley. Seconded by Ms. Carlson. RCV: Mr. Mehlhoff, yes; Dr. Dohm, yes; Dr. Sarsland, yes; Dr. Kangas, yes; Dr. Fallgatter, yes; Ms. Carlson, yes; Dr. Olson, yes. Ms. Marsh and Dr. Tanabe absent. Motion 7-0-2.

Dr. Fallgatter moved to have Mr. Mehlhoff and Dr. Fallgatter to continue negotiations with Schaibley. Seconded by Dr. Dohm. RCV: Mr. Mehlhoff, yes; Dr. Dohm, yes; Dr. Sarsland, yes; Dr. Kangas, yes; Dr. Fallgatter, yes; Ms. Carlson, yes; Dr. Olson, yes. Ms. Marsh and Dr. Tanabe absent. Motion 7-0-2.

7. Adjournment: Moved and seconded to adjourn the meeting. All voted in favor. The meeting adjourned at 9:00 pm.

Executive Director, Rita Sommers	
Secretary-Treasurer, Marcus Tanabe	, DDS