License & Registration Renewal

General Information | Military SpouseTime Line | Inactive StatusFAQs | Reporting | CE | License Status

RENEW YOUR LICENSE ONLINE NOW

 Dentists and hygienists licenses expire 12/31/2019!

Online renewal accepts VISA, DISCOVER, MASTERCARD credit cards and VISA DEBIT cards. 

 

             RDH Renewal                                    DDS Renewal                  

TIMELINE - ONLINE LICENSE RENEWAL            

11/14/2019

The 2020-2021 Renewal Notices will be mailed to currently licensed dentists and dental hygienists. All currently licensed dentists and hygienists expire 12/31/2019. VISA, MASTERCARD,  DISCOVER and VISA DEBIT are the accepted forms of payment.  

2020-2021 Dentists Renewal Notice 
2020-2021 Dental Hygiene Renewal Notice 

The  2020 Inactive Status notice and application form will be mailed to inactive licensees holding an inactive license. This application is not available to complete and pay online. 

It is the responsibility of the licensee to provide the Board correct mailing and email information. It is the responsibility of the licensee to renew license and sedation permits whether you receive a renewal notice or not. If you did not receive a notice of license renewal by 11/30/2019, contact the Board office.

What does the law say about change of address? Pursuant to NDCC § 43-28-23. Notice to board of change of address. Within thirty days after a licensed and registered dentist changes the dentist's place of business, the dentist shall notify the executive director of the board of the new address. The notice must be given by certified mail and return receipt requested. Such licensed and registered dentist may not practice dentistry in the state for more than thirty days after such removal without giving such notice.

IF YOU ARE UNABLE TO RENEW ONLINE
If you cannot renew online, you may print the renewal forms below and submit a check or money order for the appropiate fee. The Board office CANNOT take credit cards over the phone! DO NOT SEND THE PAPER FORM IF YOU RENEWED ONLINE! Please be advised that the Board may discontinue paper forms next year and that online renewal will be the only way to renew. 

2020-2021 Dentist Renewal Form 
2020-2021 Hygiene Renewal Form

Military Spouse 

The ND Board of Dental Examiners is required by law to inquire as to the status of a military spouse. The question will appear on renewal forms and initial applications.  The Board defines a "military spouse" as a foreign practitioner who is the spouse of a member of the armed forces of the United States or a reserve component of the armed forces of the United States stationed in North Dakota in accordance with military orders or stations in North Dakota before a temporary assignment to duties outside of North Dakota.

Continuing Education Requirements

DO NOT SUBMIT CONTINUING EDUCATION TO THE BOARD. The Board no longer collects, stores or maintains CE records. Should you be selected for a random CE audit, the licensee must provide evidence of appropriate CE.  Therefore, save evidence of CE for the event of an audit.   When signing the renewal form, the licensee also attests that all CE requirements have been met.   
 RDH: 16 hours              DDS: 32 hours

Anesthesia Permits and Renewal

If you are unable to renew online and you hold a current dental anesthesia permit, you will need to complete the paper Anesthesia Renewal form to renew that permit and pay the $200 permit renewal fee. You are no longer required to submit the CE to renew your permit. You should maintain it on file in case of a random CE audit. DO NOT SUBMIT CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR YOUR PERMIT TO THE BOARD. More information on anesthesia permits can be found on the Renewal of Permits page. 

12/31/2019

The online renewal portal will not be available after midnight December 31, 2019. Licensees who do not renew by December 31 will incur late fees. If your renewal was not received online or USPS postmarked on or before December 31, your registration expires and you may not practice. After December 31, you must pay the additional late fees to renew your license. 

Inactive Status Annual Renewal  

The annual inactive status for dentists and hygienists expires 12/31/2019. To renew your inactive status for dentist or dental hygiene, print and complete the 2020 Inactive Status form. Return the completed form with a $35 check or money order payable to NDSBDE. After December 31, 2019, you must include the additional $35 late fee.

01/01/2020

To renew a license that has expired download and print the 2020-2021 dental license renewal or the 2020-2021 dental hygiene license renewal application. Submit the application, and appropiate renewal and late fees. Note: The Board cannot process credit card payments in the office. Do not call the Board office with your credit card number or write it on the renewal application form.

02/29/2020

Grace period ends.  Renewal applications that have not be postmarked or received by 2/29/2020 cannot be renewed. The license must be reinstated. The practitioner must re-apply for and meet the requirements for licensure to be granted a license. 

General Information - Continuing Education & License Renewal

Do Not Submit Continuing Education to the Board Office

The Board no longer collects, stores or maintains CE records. Should you be selected for a random CE audit, the licensee must provide evidence of appropriate CE.  Therefore, save evidence of CE for the event of an audit.   When signing the renewal form, the licensee also attests that all CE requirements have been met.   

Continuing Education Requirements

RDH: 16 hours                      DDS: 32 hours.
Total hours must include 2 hours of infection control, 2 hours of ethics and jurisprudence, and 2 hours of a board approved cardiopulmonary resuscitation course (CPR) or Basic Life Support. CE courses must be directly related to clinical dentistry. You may obtain one half of the required CE hours from self-study. Two hours of CE is awarded to practitioners who take the open book, free of charge, online Ethics/Jurisprudence examination. Please go to the Board’s website to complete the open book online Jurisprudence exam for 2 credits. 

Permits Requiring CE 

          Anesthesia permits; requires 4 hours of related CE
          Sedation permits; requires 4 hours of related CE
          Anesthesia dental assistant; requires 2 hours of related CE
          Restorative functions; requires 2 hours of related CE
Endorsements such as an endorsement for local anesthesia, nitrous monitoring or sealants do not require renewal or require related continuing education. Botox permits do not require renewal or CE. DO NOT SUBMIT CONTINUING EDUCATION  FOR ANESTHESIA PERMITS TO THE BOARD UNLESS SELECTED FOR A RANDOM CE AUDIT.

CE Audit

The Board recommends you retain documentation such as receipts, vouchers or certificates of completion for the current and previous renewal cycle. Examples of proof of CE includes receipts, and certificates of completion. If the course was a “webinar” the certificate of completion must indicate “webinar”, course title, date of completion, number of CE hours attended. Membership organizations may also provide certificates indicating proof of attendance. 

Self-Study   |   Classroom Style CE   |   Webinars  

The Board defines self-study as those in which there is no interaction between an instructor and student, or education in which the student engages in the learning activity without supervision or an instructor. Self-study programs may be pre-recorded audio programs, self-paced digital courses, or self-paced online courses. Self-study is an education process designed to permit a participant to learn a given subject without involvement of a proctor
One half of required CE credits may be obtained by classroom style learning or webinars. The Board views a live webinar as a method of learning, such as a presentation, lecture, workshop or seminar which takes place on the Internet using video conferencing software. The remote audience may see and hear the presenter, ask questions and sometimes answer polls. The key feature of a webinar is its interactive elements and the ability to receive and discuss information in real-time. if you are watching a recorded webinar, it is condsidered self-study and will count towards the self-study limit. 
Classroom style learning is described as, attending a conference, course or may also be as simple as a qualified practitioner providing CE with the aid of electronic media, for example study clubs, or practitioners providing CE to employees regarding infection control or nitrous oxide equipment education.

CPR

In addition to the biennial continuing education requirement, practitioners must maintain a valid and current CPR or BLS certification.  Any credits earned by taking a CPR/BLS course for the sake of maintaining a valid certification will be counted towards the biennial CE requirement. CPR education must have a hands-on component

Anesthesia and Sedation Permit Holders

Anesthesia and sedation permits expire December 31st of odd numbered years.
Anesthesia and sedation permits are subject to expiration and renewal.
At the time of license renewal, regardless of when the permit was issued, licensees who are authorized by permit must renew a permit to administer GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND/OR DEEP SEDATION, AND MODERATE or MINIMAL SEDATION by December 31st of odd numbered years and submit the $200 permit renewal fee to NDBDE.  The fee for late submittal of the renewal permit is an additional $200.
Practitioners holding such permits must maintain evidence of four (4) hours of CE related to sedation or anesthesia. DO NOT SUBMIT CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR YOUR PERMIT TO THE BOARD.

Newly Licensed?

Renew online! A dental or dental hygiene practitioner licensed by Examination and has graduated from a dental program within 2 years of the renewal date are exempt from the CE requirement but are not exempt from submitting the renewal application and renewal fee.
Practitioners who submitted a License by Credential application, should maintain CE taken within 24 months of the expiration of the license. You may use the same CE submitted for your application if the CE is within 24 months of renewal. Registered dental assistants who graduated from a program within two years of completion are also exempt from the CE requirement.

Initial Licensure Fee vs. Renewal Fee

Both fees are required in order to obtain and maintain a license and registration with the NDSBDE. The initial license application fee is paid to initiate administrative processes and verifications that must be completed by the Board’s administrative office. The renewal fee, grants the license for the following two year period. Failure to pay the renewal fee will cause the license to expire.

License Status

If you are uncertain of your licensure status, click on the Board's Verification & Roster page. It is illegal to practice dentistry, dental hygiene, or provide dental assisting expanded duties without a license or registration. 

Reporting

Dentists, dental hygienists and registered dental assistants have a duty to report [See NDCC 43-28-18.1] within 60 days of the event any illegal, unethical, or errant behavior or conduct including the following events, proceedings, or formal or informal actions:  

  1. A dental malpractice judgment or malpractice settlement or a final judgment by a court in favor of any party and against the licensee.
  2. A final disposition  regarding the surrender of a license, or adverse action taken against a license by a licensing agency in another state, territory or country; a governmental agency; a law enforcement agency; or a court for an act or conduct that would constitute grounds for discipline under Chapter 43-28.
  3. A mortality or other incident occurring in an outpatient facility of the dentist which results in temporary or permanent physical or mental injury requiring hospitalization of the patient during or as a direct result of a dental procedure or related use of general anesthesia, deep sedation, conscious sedation with a parenteral drug, or enteral sedation. 

A practitioner shall advise the board in a timely manner if they reasonably believes another practitioner has committed an illegal or immoral act or has otherwise failed to make a report as required by law. If you have an incident to report as required by statute, submit the supporting documentation and/or certified copies of all court documents, police records related to the matter discussed in the petition. 

FAQs

What do I need to renew online?

current email address

A method of payment: Major credit cards accepted

What happens once I renew my license online?

confirmation notice is sent via email. The license or registration can be verified on the Board's Verification & Roster page. Certificates will NO LONGER be mailed out. 

I am newly licensed. Do I need to renew my license?

Yes. Regardless of when you are licensed during the two year period, a renewal application and fee is required. The initial license application fee for licensure covers the Board’s time and resources involved in processing a new license. However, a license who has graduated from any CODA accredited programs within two years of the renewal deadline is exempt from sending the continuing education. CPR must be maintained at all times. A newly licensed by credential applicant may utilize CE taken within the previous two years of the renewal deadline, even if the CE was provided during the initial license application process. The renewal fee renews the license for the following 24 month period.

I did not receive the renewal notice, will I be charged the late fee?

Yes, if not renewed by December 31st. The law requires all licensees to notify the Board of any address changes. If you didn't receive a renewal notice by mid November, call the Board's office immediately.

It wasn't my fault! The office manager did not send my renewal applications and they were postmarked after December 31. Will l incur a late fee?

Yes.  The practitioner is responsible for the timely renewal of license.

Is there a “grace” period?

Yes. The grace period consists of the 60 days following December 31. During this time period, although the license can be renewed, practitioners are prohibited from practicing with an expired license. Once the license renewal and fees have been confirmed by the Board, the practitioner may resume practice. A dental assistant may not provide any expanded duties if the registration is not renewed but may continue to provide minimal duties as provided by Administrative Rules. 

Dentists and Dental hygienists renew license by December 31 of odd numbered years. Registered dental assistants [RDA/QDA] renew registration by December 31 of even numbered years.

If I did not renew during the 60 day grace period, can I renew the license?

No, you must reapply for ND licensure. The practitioner must re-apply and meet the requirements of licensure to be granted license. The process of re-applying for licensure delays the practice of dentistry further.

What method of payments are accepted?

All credit cards are accepted for online renewal. Paper renewals cannot be paid by credit card and must be paid by check or money order. 

What address will my renewal be sent to?

A DDS renewal notice is now sent to the email address provided to the Board and sent to the work address. If no work address is provided, the home address becomes the default.  An RDH or RDA/QDA renewal notice is sent initially to the home address, followed by an email reminder. 

When can I place my license on inactive status?

When the license is due for renewal, download the inactive status application. While on inactive status, the dentist/hygienist may not engage in the practice of dentistry in the state until the dentist applies for reinstatement, pays the fee and meets any other requirement established by Administrative Rules.

If my license is inactive, can I apply for active license?

Yes, however an application for reinstatement must be reviewed by the Board. If you intend to reinstate your inactive license, plan ahead. The reinstatement application and fee must be submitted to the Board 30 days before the next Board meeting.  

If I am retired or my license is on inactive status, do I need to renew each biennial renewal period?

No. Inactive status must be maintained annually. Licensees who have submitted the “inactive status” application receive notice to renew the status annually around mid-October. If the renewal for the inactive status is not received by the Board, the inactive status is cancelled. The annual fee is $35. Continuing education is not required. The licensee may not practice dentistry in North Dakota once the license is placed on inactive status.

When do registered dental assistants renew registration?

An RDA or QDA must renew registration by December 31 of even numbered years. 

What are the CE requirements for a RDH?

1. Continuing education activities include publications, seminars, symposiums, lectures, college courses, and online education.

2. The continuing dental education hours will accumulate on the basis of one hour of credit for each hour spent in education. Subject matter directly related to clinical dentistry will be accepted by the board without limit.

3. The minimum number of hours required within a two-year cycle is sixteen. Of these hours, a dental hygienist may earn no more than eight hours from self-study. Self-study is an educational process designed to permit a participant to learn a given subject without involvement of a proctor. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation courses must provide hands-on training. All other continuing education requirements may be satisfied from online education. The continuing education must include:

a. Two hours of ethics or jurisprudence. Passing the laws and rules examination is the equivalent of two hours of ethics or jurisprudence.

b. Two hours of infection control. 

c. A cardiopulmonary resuscitation course.

d. For registered dental anesthesia hygienist permitholders, two hours related to sedation or anesthesia.

e. For registered dental restorative hygienist permitholders, two hours related to restorative dentistry.

4. Mere registration at a dental convention without specific attendance at continuing education presentations will not be creditable toward the continuing dental education requirement.

5. All dental hygienists must hold a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation certificate.

6. A dental hygienist who maintains a license on inactive status is not subject to continuing education requirements.

7. The board may audit the continuing education credits of a dental hygienist. Each licensee shall maintain certificates or records of continuing education activities from the previous renewal cycle. Upon receiving notice of an audit from the board, a licensee shall provide satisfactory documentation of attendance at, or participation in the continuing education activities listed on the licensee's continuing education form. Failure to comply with the audit is grounds for nonrenewal of or disciplinary action against the license.

What are the CE requirements for a dentist?

1. Continuing education activities include publications, seminars, symposiums, lectures, college courses, and online education.

2. The continuing dental education hours will accumulate on the basis of one hour of credit for each hour spent in education. Subject matter directly related to clinical dentistry will be accepted by the board without limit.

3. The minimum number of hours required within a two-year cycle for dentists is thirty-two. Of these hours, a dentist may earn no more than sixteen hours from self-study. Self-study is an educational process designed to permit a participant to learn a given subject without involvement of a proctor. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation courses must provide hands-on training. All other continuing education requirements may be satisfied from online education. The continuing education must include:

a. Two hours of ethics or jurisprudence. Passing the laws and rules examination is the equivalent of two hours of ethics or jurisprudence.

b. Two hours of infection control.

c. A cardiopulmonary resuscitation course.

d. For anesthesia permitholders, four hours related to sedation or anesthesia.

4. Mere registration at a dental convention without specific attendance at continuing education presentations will not be creditable toward the continuing dental education requirement.

5. All dentists must hold a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation certificate. Anesthesia permitholders are required to maintain current advanced cardiac life support certification or pediatric advanced life support as specified by permit.

6. The board may audit the continuing education credits of a dentist. Each licensee shall maintain certificates or records of continuing education activities from the previous renewal cycle. Upon receiving notice of an audit from the board, a licensee shall provide satisfactory documentation of attendance at, or participation in the continuing education activities listed on the licensee's continuing education form. Failure to comply with the audit is grounds for nonrenewal of or disciplinary action against the license.

7. A dentist who maintains a license on inactive status is not subject to continuing education requirements.